You’ve Been Googled

credit To The Tenant Advisor (one of the best blogs in Commercial Real Estate)

Why Building an On-Line Presence is Important 

A little less than three years ago , I could see how the internet which was still relatively young was going to increasingly impact our industry and in my opinion , social media/marketing was going to be an important of component of establishing an effective online presence.

The two basic premises of my strategy revolved around the following:

  • I believe that today 9 out of 10 of people considering doing business with you are going to type your name into a search engine and see what they can learn about you and I wanted to have some control over the message.
  • One of the biggest challenges that existed for me was educating the marketplace as to who I am and exactly what services I provide. Commercial real estate is a ‘”face-to-face” business. Nobody is going to hire a broker over the internet. However there is no better tool in terms of scale to reach as many people as possible. I am not trying to create business over the internet, I am trying to create opportunities to earn new business.

As I have explained in the past, a blog is an important tool in online marketing efforts. After almost three years of blogging I can say without question people are googling me and  you.  When you get into conversations with prospects about your services  you provide,  there is a lot less effort required in explaining  services or establishing credibility.  This allows all of us to focus the conversation on your client’s specific requirements.

I came across an article today that underscores the one piece of advice I would stress about social media marketing. That is social media is a long-term process and much like the other business development strategies we utilize, you must be patient and consistent.

Think of social media as a complimentary tool that enhances your traditional business development efforts rather than a stand-a

Rest assure your getting Googled, what do they see?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You’ve Been Googled

  1. Yes Izzy, all well and true and I fully agree. The internet is the new “Super Market” and the longer businesses take to get actively onto it, I reckon the more chance that their business could fold!

Leave a Reply

